Enthusiast
January 13, 2017

As for experts, I'd start with Celest:

Celest Pereira

We filmed 2 beginner yoga series with a focus on short videos and fundamentals:

3 Steps to Yoga with Celest Pereira

and

Yoga Basics: The Beginner's Guide with Celest

I would start with these not to learn the postures, but just because it's a great mix of different body parts and goals, and Celest is excellent. The "3 Steps to Yoga" videos in particular were filmed to help people transition from doing nothing to spending at least some time on the mat on a regular basis. *I'd love your feedback on them b/c helping people with this transition period is very important to Grokker.*

I'm an engineer who writes code, so I don't move much during the day, and in particular I have a bad upper back. I didn't do any yoga at all until October of last year, and since then I've been doing it 4+ times a week. I started barely able to touch my toes, and now I can put my palms on the floor. Here's what has worked for me:

1) Yoga mat lives on the couch. I can't watch TV without the shame of moving it out of the way.

2) *Consistency over difficulty.* On days when I don't feel like doing it, I pick out a video that's short or easy, and if all I do is 15 minutes that day, then all I do is 15 minutes, but the goal is to train myself to keep coming back to the mat rather than to maintain any particulary standard of difficulty. Usually what happens is after I do a 15 minute video the 30 minute video is way more appealing. So really that first video is to trick myself into feeling good enough to do the harder video.