May 19

Pinched nerve in left hip. On pain meds. Not sure how to resume yoga. The actual trigger was during a session on weights I had done before w/o problem. Thinking of Tai chi as an alternative.

Tom Rowan, Level 49
Tom Rowan
Share a helpful answer
Share your answer
Please sign in to share an answer
Vote for your favorite answer
Responses (4)
Tom Rowan, Level 49
Tom Rowan1 point
October 19

Problem has been resolved, I modified my weight training by eliminating the position that caused the problem.

tlc tlc, Level 64
tlc tlc59 points
October 18

tlc tlc, Level 64
tlc tlc59 points
tlc tlc, Level 64
tlc tlc59 points
May 20

Best wishes! I think a medical doctor or professional physical therapist might provide personalized recommendations, but maybe you might find something you enjoy in these 6 collections:
Qigong and Taoflow: https://grokker.com/yoga/collection/qigong-and-taoflow/603ea838b356ab7d31b81cf2
Mobility, Recovery, Physical Therapy: https://grokker.com/yoga/collection/mobility-recovery-physical-therapy/603eb9efb356ab7d31b83fa0
Gentle Yoga: https://grokker.com/yoga/collection/gentle-yoga/603f6d0ab356ab7d31b8bc7a
Yoga/Stretching with Karen Dubs of Flexible Warrior https://grokker.com/yoga/collection/yoga-stretching-with-karen-dubs-of-flexible-warrior/60093c1c3fa6704a3438d54d
Flow Yoga: Beginner-Intermediate https://grokker.com/yoga/collection/flow-yoga-beginner-intermediate/60ce43f84cb7214269a7ea13
Yoga with Adriene Mishler: https://grokker.com/fitness/collection/yoga-with-adriene-mishler/6009c7453fa6704a3439b548
Sometimes, the very best idea is to lay off completely for some weeks and let the body heal without putting pressure on it. I love watching Grokker's cooking videos to zone out, but very many people enjoy Grokker's meditation videos or other videos in the "mind" category. Here is a collection of videos that might put you on an unexpected journey while you might ease off your hip:
Breathing, Meditation, Pep Talks: https://grokker.com/mind/collection/breathing-meditation-pep-talks/603a8adab356ab7d31b44f1e Good luck! :)

Thumbnail image for Hip Yoga
Hip Yoga
yogatic
51 I Did This
15:08
Thumbnail image for 5 Poses to Relieve Tight Hips
5 Poses to Relieve Tight Hips
LivestrongWoman
161 I Did This
4:59
Thumbnail image for Arm Lines for Pilates - Airikai
Arm Lines for Pilates - Airikai
krashnik
22 I Did This
21:53
Thanked by Tom

Get advice in the Q&A Café

Help Center
118 qualified members are ready to help
There are no open questions.